Uncategorized

The Wild Diet: Day Two

I have to say – I think I can already feel a difference from following this diet.  I feel healthy and alive and just really good.  I think that just knowing that I am eating real food and not putting junk into my body is making me feel great!  I feel like I am not eating nearly as much as I was but I am also not hungry all the time.  It feels the best not having to log into MyFitnessPal all the time to track my food and to see how much I need to exercise in order to be “able” to have a glass of wine or chocolate after dinner.  I feel so free!

So today I did great with food again.  I wasn’t hungry for breakfast so I just did the fatty coffee thing again.  I got hungry around 11:30pm so I ate my lunch with was grilled chicken breast with left over cacciatore sauce with vegetables (onions, red and green peppers and mushrooms) and feta cheese on top.  My snack was another green smoothie this time with spinach, coconut water, carrots, cucumber, an apple and regular almond butter.  I had half around 4pm and the other half after my workout.  My workout was a nice long run for an hour at a show run pace.  For me about 4.5 miles. Dinner was two chicken legs with buffalo sauce with a salad of romaine lettuce with blue cheese crumbles (no blue cheese dressing for me).  I didn’t have any cheat foods.

I listened to Abel James’ most recent podcast of Fat Burning Man today at work.  I really like his podcasts.  I feel that I have learned a lot from them and I feel like he is a great role model for me at this time in my life.  Today his guest talked about how different diets are only good for the people who follow them for a certain amount of time.  The same diet will not continue to work for someone for ever.  Diets need to be tweaked all the time.  I totally agree with this.  I was vegetarian for about 3 years a while back.  I didn’t eat beef, pork, chicken or any other kind of meat but I did eat eggs, fish and dairy (although not a lot because I was scared of the fat content).  At that time I thought that I would lose weight and become a faster runner if I didn’t eat meat and concentrated on carbs.  This didn’t really work out the way I thought it would.  I did lose weight but not in a good way!  Everyone said that I was too skinny and that I needed to gain some back.  I think it was because I wasn’t getting enough nutrition in my diet (especially protein) to allow me to keep up my muscles.  I definitely did not become a faster runner.  I actually had IT band trouble and all kinds of other aches and pains.  Shortly after I had my daughter, I got very sick with pneumonia and ended up in ICU in a induced coma with a breathing tube.  After I recovered from that – which was lucky (I had a 50-50 chance) – I decided to start eating meat again and I found that I felt a lot better and was able to better keep up with the demands of my life.  I don’t know what kind of shape I would be in now if I would have just kept plowing through life with the vegetarian diet.

I am not normally sold on things very easily but Abel James was able to do it to me!  I am totally on board with his whole philosophy on eating and why he eats the way he does and why everyone else should too.  I am also willing to try new things in order to stick to his way of eating and The Wild Diet so I decided to try a wine delivery service he talked about in one of his podcasts awhile back – Dry Farm Wines.  I just got my first shipment yesterday and just tried my first bottle tonight.

These wines are all organic, contain hardly any sugar, and no additives to just mention a few awesome things about them.  The first bottle we opened is great.  It is a very different taste from any of the commercially made wines that I normally drink and I think I am in love with it!  These wines are also supposed to not cause hangovers or cloudy heads so we shall see!  I won’t be drinking enough wine tonight to find out but it will happen one day!

Leave a Reply

