Food

Orzo with Butternut Squash, Spinach & Blue Cheese

If this blog has done nothing else for me, it has at least gotten me to cook more!  🙂  Cooking is another one of those things that brings me joy like running does.  Sometimes it is hard but at the end, I always feel like I accomplished something good!

Below is what I am going to make tonight.  I will review it for you tomorrow.  The only thing I plan to do differently right now is not roast the squash myself.  I cheated and bought the already cut up kind!  I will be attempting to make this while alone with my daughter.  Sometimes this is a challenge depending on how much she wants to cling to MaMa.  Wish me luck!  🙂

orzo

Orzo with Butternut Squash, Spinach & Blue Cheese

Serves 4 to 6

2 1/2 cups cubed butternut squash (1/4-inch cubes)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 cup regular or whole wheat orzo
2 cups shredded spinach
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1/3 cup blue cheese crumbles

Preheat oven to 425˚F. Toss butternut squash with the olive oil. Spread into a single layer on a sheet tray. Bake until squash is tender and starting to brown, 35 to 40 minutes. (Squash can be roasted up to 5 days ahead and kept refrigerated. Rewarm before serving.)

Place the spinach in a large bowl and set aside. In a small skillet, heat olive oil until just warm. Stir in garlic, remove from heat and allow to sit until ready to use.

Place the orzo in a pot and cover with at least 2″ of water. Bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer, and cook until tender but not mushy, 8 to 9 minutes. Drain and immediately pour the hot orzo on top of the spinach. Let sit for a few minutes to slightly wilt spinach.

Add butternut squash to the pasta along with the blue cheese and garlic olive oil. Toss until well combined and serve warm.

 

Leave a Reply

