Food

Kale Chips to Balance a Healthy Morning!

So I did my 7 mile run on the treadmill this morning and it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be!  Still nicer to be outside but the run was enjoyable so I am happy!  When I came home I was starving and since I am headed off to visit family for the rest of the day and they are not the most balanced eaters, I decided to make kale chips so I would get a good dose of vegetables for the day.  The recipe below is super simple and easy (even for me and I am not a cook).  Try them and I am sure you will enjoy them as much as I do!

Yield: About 4 servings

Sea Salt and Vinegar Kale Chips

These sea salt and vinegar kale chips are a healthy and delicious alternative to the potato chip version!

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch kale (I used curly kale, but Lascinato “dino” kale also works too!)
  • 2 Tbsp. vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. coarse sea salt, more/less to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Wash and dry kale leaves. Using a knife, separate the green kale leaves from the thick ribs, and discard the ribs. Cut or tear the kale leaves into your desired size of chips, knowing that they will shrink a bit while baking.

Combine the kale leaves, vinegar, oil and 1/4 teaspoon of salt in a large bowl. Then use your hands to toss and massage the kale for 1-2 minutes until it is soft and slightly darker.

Spread out the kale in a single layer on a parchment-covered baking sheet (or two). Then sprinkle on the remaining salt. Bake for 7-10 minutes, or until the kale is crunchy and no longer soft. Remove and serve immediately, or store in a sealed container for up to 1 week.

Sea Salt and Vinegar Kale Chips | gimmesomeoven.com #vegan #glutenfree

Leave a Reply

