Exercise

When the Weather Gets Bad…

The runs go inside to the treadmill which is not something I particularly enjoy.  There was a time where I didn’t mind the treadmill at all. I would go and listen to my music or watch tv and be fine. Not so much anymore. I don’t feel that I get a worse workout on the treadmill, it just seems so much harder because of the lack of new things to look at!  It is especially boring now that my long runs take a hour or more to do…

This illustrates how I feel on the treadmill:

th

So, it is supposed to be raining cats and dogs tomorrow and I have 7 miles to run.  I think I will take it inside and I will try to remember the below reasons to “LOVE” the treadmill!  I guess it will allow me to get my workout in and relieve my stress!

5 Reasons to LOVE the Treadmill!

Because what’s the alternative?

Published

February 11, 2014

In this snowiest winter the mid-Atlantic region has seen in 20 years, almost all of us at Runner’s World have been forced by icy conditions to run on the treadmill (except maybe @RWGearguy Jeff Dengate). And we’ve been bashing it relentlessly: it’s boring, excruciating, mind-numbing, dull. True all that but but but admit it, there are days when you think “Thank GOD for the treadmill!” So I think it’s time for a little treadmill love.

1. Less laundry.

Three = items of clothing for this morning’s treadmill workout (4 x 2000 at LT pace): shorts, sports bra, socks. (I am lucky enough to have a treadmill in the privacy of my own basement, so modesty not an issue).

Nine = items of clothing for tomorrow’s easy 5 miler outside at 5:30 a.m., forecast low of 0 degrees: Bike-length underwear, tights, sports bra, thick top, reflective jacket, thick mittens, balaclava, hat, wool socks. And I feel like I’m forgetting something.

2. Coffee!

If you use a travel mug with a lid and a handle, you can sip coffee ON the treadmill. Yes! I have done this! Straw works too, as long as coffee isn’t too hot.

3. TV!

Girls, Downton Abbey, Looking, HGTV, Olympics, House of Cards returning Feb. 14th. Choose your poison. I save up episodes so it’s a “treat” to watch. I sling the iPad over the display, so I can’t see how much longer I have to run when doing oddball workouts like 4 x 2000.

4. Pacing

Speaking of 4 x 2000 at LT pace, what IS a 2000 anyway? My mind wandering during a (not boring, excruciating, mind-numbing, dull) meeting, I scribbled down numbers and came up with 1.1 miles (close enough!). (Luckily I work at Runner’s World, where scribbling 2000-1760=240 seems like legitimate work.) There is no way I could run 1.1 miles at LT pace in zero degrees at 5:30 a.m. unless I were on a treadmill, watching Girls. (And what is LT pace, you ask? Beats me. I went with half-marathon pace.)

5. [fill in your reason here]

Why do YOU run on the treadmill? Because what’s the alternative? Not running? Nah. No thank you. I’d rather run. The treadmill is a luxury and a privilege. And doing 4 x 2000 at half-marathon pace while wearing minimal clothing, sipping coffee, and watching Girls is actually not a bad way to start your day.

Okay, is that enough positivity for now? I love the treadmill! Just please don’t make me do a long run on it.

Leave a Reply

